Check guests comments and reviews about Casa do Lago, Villa holidays:

Testimonials: our guests' voice is our greatest satisfaction!

Excellent place to holiday

Excellent place to holiday. Great views and ideal for family with kids. Lots to do including pool, playground, mini golf, table tennis and bicycles. Very clean and safe. Owners very helpful with maps of the area laid out.

Only downside is you need a car to travel to beaches, shops and restaurants. Will hopefully go back someday.

Published: Oct 3,2019, Michelle Moloy, UK

Source: uktruspilot.com

Perfect villa for families with young families!!

I can’t recommend this villa highly enough.

We were a party of 8 adults and 4 very young children and we all loved the villa. It’s well laid out with relatively evenly sized bedrooms (all with private bathrooms) and great open plan spaces for everyone to convene together.

The views are spectacular and the garden perfect for allowing little ones to explore. The pool is heated and there is a well equipped play area to entertain the children. Eating outdoors whilst watching the sun set over the sea was a highlight.

Carlos was very approachable and quick to answer all emails. He was on hand on our arrival and departure and was very helpful.

A lovely villa in a lovely part of Portugal.

Highly recommend and hope to visit again in the future.

Published Sep 24, 2019 by Dai P.

Source: our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk 

Pure Luxury - Highly recommended

Benedict, from Rugeley, United Kingdom  October 2010
The villa largely exceeded our expectations. What a fantastic property! My whole family, including 2 children and friends were completely amazed. I have never stayed in a so largely equipped holiday villa. 
Although the weather was not as great as expected, children never had a single dull moment and parents know that sometimes to achieve that, is not an easy task.
We loved the region. It is far from the crowded tourist routes, but with so many to discover!
I particularly mention: the beach at Sao Martinho do Porto, the Buddha Garden and the medieval Obidos.
Will definitely return.

source our listing at: www.clickstay.com

“Perfect holiday villa for a large group with bags of character”

Reviewed by:  Anna Smith, United Kingdom Reviewed: 31 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We rented Casa do Lago to celebrate our birthdays with a group of friends and it proved to be just perfect. Each room has an ensuite and a view, the pool is a good size with plenty of room for everyone to sunbathe and the garden holds many surprises! We rented another villa down the road for other friends and it was easy to host them in Casa do Lago given the size of the living room and kitchen and also the outdoor barbecue. The size of the house is also helpful on rainy days, when we were able to watch DVDs as a group in comfort. 
The style of the house is very distinct and quite imposing when you arrive.
Location wise it's an hour's drive from Lisbon so relatively easy to reach in a hire car from a budget airline flight. The nearest town, Foz do Arelho, has a few nice bars and restaurants and a trip to nearby Obidos is a must - what a beautiful historic town.
The owners were a pleasure to deal with, helpful and friendly, and the price very competitive for what you get. We hope to be back - perhaps with friends who have children, as it's very well set up for kids too.

source our listing at: www.tripadvisor.ie

​Fabulous stay!!

Reviewed by: Paul, Carmel and friends who stayed 16th-30th August 2014

We have truly enjoyed our fabulous stay. We especially loved the pool, playground, bikes and table tennis. Our party of 4 families ranged from 6 months - 60 years and we were all very comfortable and catered for. We recommend The Vintage Club in Foz village food wise and Obidos not to be missed - definitely worth a visit! Thank you again.

Source our listing at: Holiday Tots

Casa do Largo, Foz do Arelho!

Reviewed by Victoria W. from UK Reviewed on: 04/07/2016, date of stay: June 2016

It is not often that the descriptions of villas meet your expectation. Casa do Largo is exactly how it is represented in Owners Direct web site...and MORE!

The owner Carlos, could not be more helpful, the views quite spectacular and the facilities the best we have ever stayed in. The villa has everything for children and adults alike, EVERYTHING has been thought of to make your stay perfect. A beautiful pool, heated, large well appointed bedrooms, bathrooms and large spacious living rooms.

We highly recommend this villa.

source our listing at: www.ownersdirect.co.uk

The villa was all we hoped for and more!

Reviewed By Laurie Cartmell from UK Date of Stay: August 2017

The villa was all we hoped for and more. We (family of 11) all enjoyed our stay here at Casa do Lago. We will come back. Carlos is a very kind and gentle man, who did all he could to make our stay enjoyable. The pool is fantastic and has a part especially for the smaller children- but most important- it was warm so the 'littlies' were not cold in the water 10/10 Gold Star. Several beaches and beach bars. Thank you

source our listing at Google maps

The villa was all we hoped for and more!

Reviewed By Claire Hoey from UK Date of Stay: May 2018

Beautiful calm villa . Excellent views & swimming pool. Highly recommended

source our listing at Google maps

Amazing villa!

Reviewed by Stef Watts from UK Reviewed on: 01/07/2017, date of stay: June 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We stayed here with our family (9 of us in total) and the villa really does has something for everyone. The heated pool is a real bonus for little ones, and the safety gate in there is such a clever idea! The villa had everything we wanted and more and is just as the pictures show it. It's in a great location and we had some great visits out.

Thank you for a great stay!

source our listing at: www.holidaytots.co.uk

Amazing villa with great views!

Reviewed by Glyn R. from UK Reviewed on: 04/08/2018, date of stay: August 2018

This villa is fantastic for large groups. There was 9 of us with 6 adults and 3 kids. The views are amazing and the villa itself is well equipped with everything you might need. The owner Carlos is very helpful and was able to assist with any questions we had. If you want luxury with panoramic views and a beautiful beach 5 mins away this is the place for you!

source our listing at: homeaway.co.uk

Gorgeous views and great facilities!

Reviewed by Scott B. Reviewed on: 18/09/2018, Stayed Sep 2018

We stayed recently and found the villa to be as exceptional as the photos led us to believe. We were grandparents, parents and 2 children and we all enjoyed the heated pool, which was vital as the weather was a little on the cold side!! The views are amazing, and the house is equipped with all every day living amenities to make staying there easy. Carlos was very helpful in the lead up to our stay making sure we had high chairs and cots as requested and when we arrived, showing us all the things we needed to know about our stay and where local amenities and attractions were on the (basic) map he provided. We would definitely stay again!

source our listing at: homeaway.co.uk

Casa de Lago

Reviewed by Elaine Warner on: 25/10/2018, Stayed Out 2018

It is a completely accessible villa. We were on a family holiday and there was plenty of room for everyone. There is everything you could possibly need. It was a true holiday with no stress in the house as everything that was needed for the wheelchair user was available. Carlos was so so helpful and made sure everything was perfect. It is a well used villa. The only thing I would advice is to bring your own games etc

Source our listing at Euansguide.com

   

Stunning holiday house for large groups

Review submitted by Robert G. on Aug 24, 2016, Date of Stay: Aug 2016

Casa Lago was everything we wanted it to be. We were a family of 14: 8 adults, 5 children and a baby. The views from all rooms are amazing. The house is extremely well equipped, we wanted for nothing. Even had lots of inflatables for the pool, to which we have added. There are lots of places nearby to eat and plenty of shops, but none within walking distance.

The owner was there to greet us, on arrival, and had provided an extensive welcome pack of food. Which we much appreciated. We did have one or two problems in the house, but Carlos responded by return and sorted the problem out immediately.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this property. None of us wanted to leave!

Source our listing at: www.ownersdirect.co.uk

A wonderful week at this gorgeous villa

Review submitted by Carol R. on Jul 11, 2016, Date of Stay: Jul 2016

The villa is extremely well equipped for the whole family and very child safety orientated. We were very impressed with the safety around the pool area and the fish pond. Our grandchildren had so much to do and cried when we left! Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the main lounge was a great place for the whole family to get together. Carlos the owner was very helpful and gave us good local information and was always happy to be contacted with any queries. We had a fabulous week at this beautiful place and would love a return visit sometime.

Source our listing at : www.homeaway.co.uk

Superb modern villa with amazing views

 Review submitted by Jack P. on  Oct 12, 2015, date of Stay: Sep 2015, walking group of 8 adults

The group have hired many villas over the past 20 years and this is probably the best of them all. The villa has panoramic views and a 15m swimming pool heated to at least 29C. The facilities were complete as described, with ample hot water available at all times, a kitchen which was well equipped for group catering and a BBQ outside which worked well. The owner quickly sorted an internet reception problem and other minor issues which occurred during our stay. There are a number of shady areas in the garden but we would suggest that more shade could be provided near the pool.

Finally may we thank Carlos for his attention and consideration during our stay.

Jack and Mary and all the group.

Source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk

“Fantastic !!!! Can't wait to go again !!!!”

 Review submitted by SNad86 U.K. on April12, 2017, date of Stay:  April 2017, family of 8 adults: one wheelchair user.

We rented Carlos's villa for a family short break (three generations were there) and everything was perfect.
Carlos was so accommodating with the booking and with helping us find an accessible car and some mobility equipment. It took a lot of stress of our shoulders knowing that everything was sorted for the day we arrive at the villa.
The villa itself is out of this world. The photos don't do it justice. It is really spacious and everybody will find something to do : mini-golf, bikes, table tennis, heated swimming pool, kids playground, pool hoist, etc. Everything is just perfect.
The accessibility is great, ramps in all needed places, roll-in-shower, big bedrooms and doors, pool hoist.
We went to a few villages around but didn't get a chance to do it all. That's why we are coming back in September... and we just can't wait.
Thanks again Carlos and see you in September.

source our listing at: www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Beautiful villa with stunning views”

 Review submitted by Nick Marlow, United Kingdom  on April17, 2017, date of Stay:  April 2017

We have just returned from a week in this amazing family friendly villa. A fabulous welcome pack was waiting for us on our arrival, far more generous than anywhere else we have previously stayed. The pool had been heated to 29 degrees, which meant the whole family could go in every day even though it was only Easter. The villa was equipped with everything you could possibly want on holiday including numerous pool toys to keep the children entertained. The huge beach that was only a 5 minute drive away was virtually deserted all week and a great place to watch the local surfers. We look forward to going back again next year!

source our listing at: www.tripadvisor.co.uk

“Family from Benfleet, United Kingdom  June 2017

 Carlos welcomed us to the villa and provided a generous starter pack of food and drink. He responded quickly to any queries we raised by text. Everything at the villa was clean and in good working order except the pool lights but the pool was maintained during our stay. We booked the villa as a good base to stay with small children and found that the facilities were ideal and safe (locked pool screens, segregated shallow pool area, stair-gates, travel cots, fenced play area etc). The views were exceptional and could be enjoyed from the well-heated pool, the hammocks, the eating areas or the balconies. We did not explore the region extensively due to the small children but the town of Obidos was beautiful and Sintra exceptional. The local beach was huge with soft sand and offered both surf conditions and safe shallow bathing. At the end of our stay Carlos returned and allowed us to stay longer than agreed before our transfer to the airport. The whole family enjoyed their week at the villa which provided a stunning base in which to relax and have fun.

source our listing at: www.clickstay.com

Superb villa

Superb location, amazing views, extensive facilities, plenty to see and do in the area and friendly, helpful owner. Highly recommended.

Published: Oct 2,2019, Martin Harrison, UK

Source: uktruspilot.com

    "Excellent villa for all the family"

We all had a fantastic time at the Villa. There were 10 of us in total 8 adults and 2 children and we fitted comfortably in the villa. The heated pool was fantastic as it meant we could go in the pool all day every day. Carlos (the owner) was incredibly helpful and always available when needed. The supermarket was a 10 minute drive and had everything we needed. There were inflatables for the pool at the villa which the little ones were really pleased with. The pool gate was fab as meant we could keep the children in the shallow end although my 5 year old could stand up in just over half the length of the pool which was great. Amazing views,amazing villa, amazing communication with owner.

Thank you Carlos!

Gemma McAndrew, UK, 22 July 7.2017

source our listing at: www.ownersdirect.co.uk

 

"Enjoyable stay"
"We are the Brazilian family; Inês and Vinicius, with our 4 children, Eduarda, Lucas, Frederico, Madalena, our 3 grandparents, that stayed in your villa for 2 weeks of July / 2008 and we want to say how much we enjoyed our stay in your house. It's a millionaires dream place! In effect the luxury and standards are so high that we must confess it was painful for us to leave the villa to daily(...)"

Ines and Vinicius, from Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, Friday, 5 September 2008

source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk

"Excellent choice"
"A lovely property - very well maintained. Perfect for families with a lot of thought going into child safety from locked entrance gates to child resistant locks around the pool area. Carlos himself put himself out to ensure that everything was perfect - he waited for our party to arrive and this was after midnight because of flight delays etc... Very highly recommended."

Peter, from Herefordshire, Monday, 13 September 2010

source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk

"Our family's best holiday stay"
"Our family had a great stay at this beautifully kept villa last September. The property sits on a hill, overlooking the beautiful Atlantic ocean. We still talk about the beautiful views, especially the sunsets overlooking the ocean, by the infinite pool. Everything in the property is modern and outstanding. The restaurants in town offer great meals reasonably priced. 

Family from Canada, Thursday, 16 October 2008

Source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk

Stunning

Review Submitted: August, Happy UK Family UK, 26, 2009, Date of Stay: August 2009
We stayed in Casa do Lago for a week in August 09. The villa was easily big enough for our family of 4 adults (2 parents & 2 grandparents) and 5 children's, and if we'd kept the baby in our room could have accommodated the other set of grandparents too.

The villa was simply stunning and exceeded even our high expectations having viewed the website.

It has extraordinary views over the lagoon and out to the ocean. The infinity pool is fabulous and the gardens look great but better still include a children's play area, hammocks, outdoor gym, and crazy golf. This was paradise for the kids (3years to 14 years) who also loved all the toys and games in the villa: bikes, table tennis, table football, inflatables, body boards, bikes (helmets even provided), tricycles etc... For the adults there with at least 9 sun loungers by the pool, a wine fridge, sun shades on windows that opened and shut with the sun and bikes and gym equipment for the more adventurous.

We used the outdoor barbecue grill and the lady who looks after the house for the owners was able to arrange for people to cook for us one evening without a problem.

The villa was cleaned and linen changed mid week, and the pool regularly cleaned. All the bedrooms were big, en-suite, with floor to ceiling glass door/windows onto the patios or balconies.

Furnishings and equipment in the villa are all as we'd have at home, not the usual 'rental' standard. Touches such as all switches being labelled made the stay even easier.

The beach in Foz was busy, but a 25 min drive around to the other side of the lagoon and leads to acres of almost empty golden sand, with the added pleasure of looking across at your own villa.

Very happy to recommend!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk


Our fantastic staying !!!

Review Submitted: August, Patrese Milano, Italy26,2009, Date of Stay: June 2009
When booking we were a little nervous, but now and comparing prices and quality with other villas we've stayed before, Casa do Lago is the cheapest we've ever found.
The villa is a cinema star dream place.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk


Luxury Villa with Excellent facilities

Review Submitted: September, Cat London23,2010, Date of Stay: September 2010
Villa Casa do Lago exceeded all of our expectations - it provided the perfect setting for a week of relaxation with a group of friends. Equipped to an incredibly high standard, Casa do Lago catered to all our needs - a great pool for relaxing by and swimming, wonderful views out to the lagoon and Atlantic, a large garden with plenty of activities to keep us entertained (the crazy golf was well enjoyed!), a superb BBQ area for evening dinners, lots of games activities for some competitive fun, including table tennis and the kitchen, living and sleeping areas in the house were kitted out with all the best gear and accessories. Whilst we did not have any children in our holiday group, the villa is also ideal for younger generations, with a fantastic outdoor play area. Whilst a car is essential for accessing Casa do Lago and getting around the area, the villa is also equipped with bikes which were handy for local trips. There are plenty of good restaurants to eat at nearby and lovely beaches within a few minutes. We were on a golfing holiday and were able to easily access a large number of very good courses in a short time. I could not fault the service and attention to detail that the villa owner provided us - so helpful and easily accessible should there be any queries. This was by far the best private rental I have ever booked.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

source our listing at: www.homeaway.co.uk   

You  will never regret by booking this villa!

  • Review submitted by Serena,  Visit Date October 2016, Travelled With Friend(s)

We stayed here as a group of friends with 2 young children and we had the most amazing time. The villa is lovely with breathtaking views over the lagoon! The pool is wonderful and it was great that it was heated. The playground was brilliant for the little ones and the local area was really nice with the local beaches surrounding the lagoon a must see. The best thing for us was how safe and secure the villa was with baby stair-gates, pool gates and fencing all around making it so easy for us to relax a little more knowing the kids were contained! Furthermore the cots and high-chairs available were not some cheap make do items but instead well equipped and comfortable additions that made our stay more manageable with added comfort. Carlos the owner was also a major plus to staying here and helped us hugely with our stay. From answering every question I had beforehand regarding local supermarkets and transfer ideas, to making our arrival and departure run so smoothly! He was just a phone call or email away if we needed any help with anything as well and he would always reply very quickly. To top it off he provided a more than generous welcome pack that provided us with some essential items to keep us going till we got to the shops and even some luxury items thrown in to give us a warm welcome. The kitchen is so well stocked with everything you need that it really made meal times a breeze when things that you would have within easy reach at home like herbs / cooking utensils / dishwasher tablets / well stocked pantry were already available for you. It was also nice having the choice to wash clothes and the tumble dryer came in handy when drying our wet towels from the pool!

All in all I seriously can’t recommend this villa enough! The whole package what with the well thought out and maintained villa to the very helpful owner who will go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as can be! Thank you for having us and will not hesitate to book to visit again!                       

source our listing at:  www.silvertraveladvisor.com

Thanks for a great holiday!

Review submitted by Jonathan King - 26th September 2016

We have just returned from a week at Casa do Lago. 3 generations, including 4 children under the age of 4, made full use of the facilities. Casa do Lago proved to be the perfect place for us to stay. The facilities in the villa made it a great place to enjoy, from the (very pleasantly) warm pool, to the mini golf, to the BBQ, to simply enjoying the fantastic view and the wonderful sunsets. The villa is of a high specification, and things such as the effective electronic shades and the effective air conditioning make a real difference to the comfort of the villa. When we did venture out, the lagoon beach at Foz do Arelho was spectacular, and Obidos and surrounding areas made great short trips. A good, easy < 1 hour drive from Lisbon airport, and well placed for the supermarkets and facilities of Caldas da Rainha made it all very convenient. Carlos was extremely helpful, including in making sure that a number of items we had requested for babies and toddlers were available for us. Most tellingly, perhaps, we have already started contemplating our next trip! Thanks for a great holiday.

source our listing at:  www.holidaytots.co.uk

Fabulous house in a fabulous location!

Reviewed By S. Parnes on November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

As a family of 12 (7adults and 5 children) we found the house to be spacious and very comfortable. Carlos, the owner, was very helpful and eager to satisfy our every need.
The location was great...a pleasant 15 minutes walking distance from the beaches and cafés. The house was equipped with bicycles which enabled us to ride there with the children. The lovely nearby town of Caldas da Rainha was only a ten minute drive away and it supplied all our needs.
The view from the house was staggering. It was lovely to wake up to, to see at sundown and at night too....a real paradise!
The children had so much fun with the football table and the ping-pong that we had trouble tearing them away when we wanted to go places. Unfortunately, because of the weather, they were only able to swim once in the pool!
Casa da Lago was indeed a dream house which catered to our every need. We, as well as the children, would love to return to the house again and we will certainly recommend it to our friends!

source our listing at: www.tripadvisor.com

“Great villa for families with kids and a couple of wheelchair users!, 

Sept. 2017

Carlos the owner has added a profiling bed and hoist for the accessible ground floor suite on the ground floor which had a bedroom and bathroom that were both spacious enough for my husband's electric wheelchair. The pool hoist and the other facilities makes the villa in the best equipped that we have ever seen to receive a couple in wheelchairs. The property is also immensely well equipped for the whole family and orientated to both: child safety and happiness. All of us were very impressed with the safety fence around the pool area and the pool temperature (around 30 Celsius). Our grandchildren had so much to do and turned very unhappy when we left! Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the living room was a great place for the whole family to get together. 

Carlos is a great host, always very helpful, gave us good local information and was always very happy to be contacted. We had a fabulous week at this great property and would love a return.

source: www.holidaytruths.co.uk

Fantastic place to stay!★★★★★

We were a party of 8 being 4 adults and 4 kids aged from 2 to 6.

The pool being heated was a huge hit for all of us and it was a great size and depth.

The views are beautiful, especially at night.

The kids enjoyed down time on the bean bags watching films and we enjoyed our evenings just chilling on the terrace.

The kids also really enjoyed the play area, which has plenty, although could do with a make over.

We used the BBQ most evenings which was fab. The rooms were spacious and apart from a squeaky bed in our room, we did all sleep well.

Carlos, the owner, is very courteous and replied to my copious emails beforehand. We even left a doll there and this was posted on very quickly. He has a contact for the airport transfers who is brilliant, has a Mercedes Vito van, and very reasonable.

Overall we had a brilliant time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

By Kerry Santucci - 16th September 2019

 

Owner Response: Thank you very much for reviewing your stay and also a big thank you for the information about the small problems.
As in the next winter time, the whole property will be reviewed and prepared for the next season, all these small issues will be resolved.
Hope to see you again in the villa for the next future.

Best wishes,

Carlos Capaz

source our listing at:  www.holidaytots.co.uk

Please add your review below:

  • Google Maps Social Icon
  • YouTube Social Icon
  • Linkedin Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

LEGAL INFORMATION:

Privacy policy - Copyright

Terms & Conditions - Consumer Arbitrage

Useful Links

Licensed accommodation: Caldas da Rainha 2265 AL

The excellence of Portugal was prized and world wide voted as the "2017, 2018 and 2019 Worlds Leading Destination", which reward has never been assign before to an European Country. 

wta-winner-badge-2017
wta-winner-badge-2018
wta-winner-badge-2019

© 2016 Casa do Lago Holiday Villa, Foz do Arelho, Portugal - Phone: ++351 920078939 - casa.do.lago.portugal@gmail.com